Happy Birthday Canada!

I’m a proud Canadian and feel extremely fortunate to live in this country. However, I know that it/we are not perfect. I’ve been thinking about how to celebrate Canada Day, and all the good we have to appreciate, without ignoring or dishonouring our history. If you saw my post from last Canada Day, you’ll know how much I love spending time in Ottawa, especially at this time of year. I’m not going to celebrate Canada Day there this year, but when I lived there in 2013-14, I not only celebrated Canada Day on Parliament Hill, but later that summer, I also watched a show on the hill called “Mosaica.” It was a really cool electronic show where images were projected onto the parliament buildings and narration described Canadian history, both national and in the world context; politics; sports; pop culture and more. It was as entertaining as it was informative. Remembering this makes me realize that what I can do is continue to learn about our history – all I have forgotten since grade school, and all that was not part of our curriculum back then. The great thing is, with shows like Mosaica, learning is fun! Okay…I know that sounds cheesy, but there really are lots of fun and interesting ways to learn.

Mosaica, since renamed to “Northern Lights,” starts this year on July 11 and runs until September 16. I highly recommend it if you find yourself in Ottawa over the next couple of months.

Some of these photos are not the best quality; night-time photography remains my nemesis! However, they give you a bit of an idea of what the show is all about.

IMG_0160RS

IMG_0176

IMG_0162

IMG_0173

IMG_0174

IMG_0191

IMG_0164RS

IMG_0180-2

IMG_0179RS

IMG_0225

IMG_0227

I’m planning a low-key celebration this year, and speaking of fun learning – I’m looking forward to checking out Museum London‘s exhibits. Whatever you do to celebrate, have a great time, but please be safe; don’t drink and drive. Happy Canada Day to my fellow Canucks!

All images by me; copyright Tina Beynen, 2017.

Leave a Reply

