Gathering on the Green & Wortley Village

I don’t participate in a lot of craft shows, but one that I’ve enjoyed being a part of for several years now is Gathering on the Green. This year the Old South Community Organization celebrates the 35th edition of this community festival.

Gathering on the Green is this Saturday, June 3, starting at 10:00 am and running until 5:00 pm. The Village Green is located off of Wortley Road between Elmwood and Duchess avenues. Be forewarned: it is a popular event, so you may have to park a few blocks away. Better yet, if you live nearby, walk or ride your bike.  Details for a community ride to the festival and the bike valet parking can be found on the event’s Facebook page (scroll down in the posts).

I will be at the festival as a vendor, selling photographic prints, framed photos, a mat cutting kit (comes with a bunch of different sized and coloured mats to play with) and my hand-crafted jewellery (I sell this under the name Sibling Rivalry Jewellery).

**Special for the festival**

All framed photos will be on clearance for 50% off!! I am planning a move later this summer and can’t take them with me so come and get a great bargain. 

I’ll be taking a break from the blog next week as I will be out of town apartment hunting. In the meantime, here are some photos of the old Normal School and other sights around Wortley Village. These photos were taken in August, 2011, when I used to live closer and loved going for strolls through the village.

DSC05260

DSC05272

I have to give a shout-out to Curiosities! Not only is it a great store to peruse with interesting clothing and accessories, but they are great supporters of the festival, handling the vendor sign-up every year.

DSC05276

DSC05279

DSC05283

DSC05285

If you are a music fan, this is a really interesting place to have a look around – you can lose yourself in old records for hours!

DSC05294

DSC05302

DSC05311

DSC05312

My favourite Wortley watering hole 😀

DSC05314

DSC05316

DSC05317

All images by me; copyright Tina Beynen, 2017.

Leave a Reply

