Music to my…eyes?

I love music. Who doesn’t? I’ve never had any talent for it though; I can’t read music or carry a tune (thought that doesn’t prevent me from belting out my favourite tunes in private!). It may seem strange, the idea of looking at an object (in this case, a musical instrument) primarily for its aesthetic value, but I like to think of it as finding beauty in unlikely places. I don’t seek out to take photos of instruments, but every now and again, one catches my eye and I snap a few shots. I remember being in a pub once listening to a live band. One of the musicians had an accordion. It looked like an antique and was painted in a style reminiscent of 50s and 60s diners if that makes any sense. I was obsessed! I approached the musician during one of the breaks to ask him if I could take some photos – like have a photo session with his accordion! Thankfully, he didn’t think me completely crazy, but was heading out of town so it never happened. However, here are a few other photos I’ve take of instruments.

What can I say…my favourite colour is red!

DSC00298

*swoon* I LOVE the saxophone! This pic will have to do until I can get a better one.

IMG_1570

DSC00301

I love the creativity in the next two pictures! If it doesn’t negatively affect the quality of sound production, why not have some fun with the design?

img_7530

img_7515

Again…red. Snazy!

IMG_2606

What random objects (not people) have you taken photos of based purely on the aesthetic value, or some quirk that caught your eye?

All images by me; copyright Tina Beynen, 2017.

Leave a Reply

