My fascination with doors

It seems I have many fascinations when it comes to photography; things that I wouldn’t normally take a second look at suddenly become very photogenic under the right conditions. Several years ago doors became one of those things. It started with a road trip with my mom and 2 aunts to Regina, Saskatchewan. On the way back, we stopped at the site of an old, abandoned house for a stretch and nosy around. I was fascinated, with the slightly creepy, but mysterious house and shot it entirely in black and white to capture the effect. The first picture below was one of the results. This is also the first photo I ever sold as a photographer. Most other doors that catch my eye are colourful or have some sort of interesting detail. Church doors and those found at institutions, like universities – especially the older ones, also provide lots of great photos ops. The great thing: you can find these everywhere! Although it’s fun to travel, you can see these in your own back yard.

 

skdoorframebw

DSC07917

London-UWOdoor

Ottawa-redchurchdoor

DSC04568

London-churchdoubledoor

Ottawa-bluedoor

London-McIntoshGallerydoor

DSC05245

London-Bresciadoor

DundasE Church 2

IMG_9489

 

All images by me; copyright Tina Beynen, 2017.

One thought on “My fascination with doors

Leave a Reply

