Happy St. Patty’s!

Top ‘o the mornin’ to ya! In honour of St. Patty’s Day, I’d like to share with you some photos from my trip to Ireland. I’d like to say that this was recent, but alas, it was several years ago. In fact, it was almost 2 decades ago! I still remember it vividly though. I started in Dublin, of course, and from there, did day trips to Galway, Cork and Blarney.

The Irish countryside

Ireland12

Galway – River Corrib

Ireland1

Blarney Castle
Yes, I did kiss the infamous stone. However, after hearing what the locals do there after hours, I wish I hadn’t!

Ireland2

View from top of Blarney Castle

Ireland3

After spending a week in the Dublin area, I headed to Northern Ireland for a few days. What a treat this turned out to be! I focused my visit on the Causeway Coast, the northern coastal area between Londonderry and Belfast. I stayed in Portrush and took the coastal bus that stops at many of the most popular attractions: Dunluce Castle, The Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge, Giant’s Causeway, and Bushmills (home to the famous whiskey distillery).

I’m going to show you more of the Causeway Coast next week, but for today, will focus on the World Heritage Site, Giant’s Causeway

Ireland14-pan

Ireland4

Ireland13-pan

Ireland5

Ireland10

Ireland6

Ireland9

Ireland8

Ireland7

Along with walking around on the basalt columns, there is a hiking trail higher up. This is where some of the other photos came from. Beautiful, isn’t it? You have no idea. More Causeway Coast next week!

I was only in Ireland for a couple of weeks and it was so long ago now. Maybe some day I’ll get back there to see more – and celebrate St. Patty’s in style! However you’re celebrating today, please be safe…don’t drink and drive.

All images by me; copyright Tina Beynen, 2017.

One thought on “Happy St. Patty’s!

Leave a Reply

