More from the City of Love

We continue our tour through the City of Love, today focusing on some of the gardens and museums I visited. (If you missed my first post on Paris, you can see it here.)

Fontainbleau

paris4

paris3

Inside the Panthéon – Napoleon’s tomb

paris22

paris21

paris19

paris18

Jardin des Tuileries

paris17

And last but not least, the Louvre. I waited until my second visit to Paris to visit the Louvre. It’s not that I don’t love art (quite the opposite), but I had limited time during my first visit. As a huge fan of impressionist painting, it was recommended that I go see the Musée D’Orsay. That’s exactly what I did and it was fantastic! There is a larger collection of impressionist art here than in the Louvre and it’s not as big, so not as overwhelming. You could spend an entire day in the Louvre and still not see all of it. By the time I went to the Louvre I was a bit “museumed out,” so I only spent a couple of hours and went straight for the heavy-hitters, like the Mona Lisa and Venus de Milo (pictured below). I also checked out an Egyptian exhibit.

paris26

paris10

Napoléon III Apartments

paris12

paris13

 

 

All images by me; copyright Tina Beynen, 2017.

Leave a Reply

