The City of Love

I’m not a huge fan of Valentine’s Day, but I heart the City of Love!  Anyone who knows me well or who has followed the blog from the beginning will know my love of all-things French. Growing up I dreamed about going to Paris and finally got the chance in the spring of 1997. It was everything I’d imagined and more! I was able to go back two other times, but have not been in this millennium. Back then, before I got into photography more seriously, I had a Yashika point-and-shoot film camera. I had splurged around $300, which was a lot of money for me back then, but it was worth every penny. For a point-and-shoot, it took pretty good photos. However, I not only have a better camera now, but have also learned a lot more about photography. I think I should go back to Paris for a do-over!

La Basilique du Sacré Coeur

paris5

View of Sacré Coeur from Centre Pompidou

paris9

View of Eiffel Tower from Centre Pompidou

paris8

Pompidou Fountain

paris7

Place des Vosges

paris6

paris16

Pont Alexandre III

paris15

Musée D’Orsay & the Seine
If you’re a fan of Impressionist art like I am, THIS is the museum you want to go to. I was given the head’s up about this before my first trip to Paris, and made the decision to go here instead of the Louvre. I’m really glad I did! I did, however, go to the Louve my second time in Paris.

paris2

View of the Arc de Triomphe from La Défense

paris23

Outdoor art at La Défense

paris24

Opposite end…view down the Champs-Élysées to the Arc de Triomphe

paris1

Sainte Chapelle

paris20

Cimetière Père-Lachaise
I unfortunately arrived here not too long before they closed so didn’t have much time to look around – and didn’t get to see Jim Morrison’s grave. Yet another excuse to return to Paris!

paris25

 

Next time we’ll continue touring around Paris to some museums and gardens.

This weekend is a holiday weekend in Ontario; Monday is Family Day. I was really excited when this was created – and not just because it meant another day off work! I don’t begrudge anyone celebrating romantic love, far from it. I’m just not a fan of the forced expectation of pulling out all the stops on one, specific day. I believe we should work at cherishing our relationships – all relationships, all the time. Occasionally this may mean a larger gesture, but more often than not, there are small things we can do more regularly to ensure we appreciate those we care about. I can’t think of anything better than celebrating family – blood and other. I am incredibly fortunate to have family, and friends who are like family, who love and support me in a number of ways. I hope you are as fortunate! Have fun celebrating (with) the ones you love this weekend!

All images by me; copyright Tina Beynen, 2017.

4 thoughts on “The City of Love

  1. I love Paris and anything French too. I don’t mind going back to the same destination over and over again. Moments and photos are always different.

    Like

Leave a Reply

