Québec City Charm

If you read last week’s post, you’ll know that in the summer of 2006, I enjoyed a two-week road trip and vacation in Québec. I spent the first week in Trois-Pistoles, where I participated in a one-week immersion program in an attempt to brush up on my rusty French. After a very enjoyable, several hour meander along highway 138, which included several photo stops, I arrived in Québec City for week two.

If you’ve been to the beautiful Ville de Québec, you are familiar with its charm. If you’ve not been, it’s really true what they say: it feels like you’re in the middle of Europe (at least in Old Québec).

Place D’Youville

qccabaret

qcportofinocafe

Place Royale

qcoldvillctyd

Old Québec

qcoldtnbldg

qcfrontenac_fromoldtn

qcoldtownst_bw

qccarriageride

qcgatent_oldtnview

qcancienscdns

I had lunch here one lazy, hot, summer afternoon, and it was SO great! I sat on the patio, enjoyed a cold beer, and had a salad that was so good, I’ve tried to replicate it here at home: mixed greens, sliced chicken breast, walnuts, slices of green apple, a bit of red onion, all in a maple vinagrette dressing.

qcbistrosf

I encountered this lovely old man playing the accordion on the stairs leading down to Lower Town, near the Château Frontenac. Seriously – is there anything more old-world French?

qcaccordianmanclose_bw

Château Frontenac

qcfrontenac_bdwk

qcfrontenacfromcit

qcfrontenac_night

Parliament

qcparlinuk_bw

qccityhall_bw

qcduplessis

Musée National des Beaux-Arts du Québec

qcartmuseum

qchistorymuseum

Although just the tip of the iceberg of what I saw during my week in Québec City, it’s easy to see how beautiful it is and how much there is to see. I really encourage you to make the trip if you get the chance. And don’t worry – if your French is as rusty as mine, you’ll still have no problem getting around. Since it’s a very popular tourist destination for travelers from all over the world, there is lots of English spoken.

Until next time…à bientôt.

 

All images by me; copyright Tina Beynen, 2017.

One thought on “Québec City Charm

Leave a Reply

