La Belle Province

My heart goes out to the families and friends of those killed and injured in the mosque shooting in Quebec City. To pay my respects and perhaps sooth some souls, battle-weary from the negative and sad news we’ve been bombarded with over the last couple of weeks, I’d like to share with you some photos from one of my trips in La Belle Province.

I studied French all the way through school, including university. However, the jobs I had after I graduated didn’t require me to use it. Of course as happens with languages when you don’t use them, you lose them. So, in the summer of 2006 I decided to sign up for a one-week immersion program in Trois-Pistoles, Quebec. This is a small, pretty town east of Quebec City. I made a real trip of it: 2 weeks vacation and road trip; the first week in Trois-Pistoles and the second week in Quebec City. I was housed on the outskirts of town in Trois-Pistoles with this lovely woman who lived in a beautiful cottage along the river. Out front was a view of the river, and out back was fields of wildflowers and rolling hills. It was an idyllic spot! These photos are from the first week of my trip, including some excursions we went on, and my drive from Trois-Pistoles to Quebec City.

This is one of my favourite photos I’ve ever taken. It was just down the road from where I stayed. It was so calm and serene! It also reminds me of summers as a child, when my mom, sister, aunt and I would drive to Muskoka for 2 weeks to visit my grandma. She lived on a lake about half an hour south of Parry Sound.

RTPdock_bw

Views “across the street” from where I stayed.

qc-rtp2

qc-rtp1

Whale watching excursion.

qcsailor_bw

We did some exploring along a beach that was covered with shale and some interesting pieces of driftwood.

iabshale_bw

Excursion to a microbrewery. What’s funny about this photo, is that there was a big, white, fluffy dog lazing beneath the window – and the cat was watching him like a hawk!

qccatwindow

Even in the rain, it was still beautiful!

qc-microbrewery1

qc-microbrewery2

Mont Ste-Anne Canyon

qcstannefalls_top

qcstannefalls

Between Montreal and Quebec City (and beyond), there is a beautiful, scenic highway that you can take if you want to get off the beaten path, and this is exactly what I did, driving from Trois-Pistoles to Quebec City. What should have been a simple, 2-hour drive, ended up a meandering, several-hour trip! And it was fabulous! There were so many surprises and great spots to stop and take photos. This is a great alternative to Hwy 40 if you’re not in a hurry.

qcramsaygenst_lft

qcartisansaboiteaux

qcchezlouise

qc132sunset

The perfect end to an idyllic day of exploring. Sometimes you gotta stop to smell the roses – or in this case, to watch the sunset.

Next time we’ll continue the trip and see some photos of Quebec City.

All images by me; copyright Tina Beynen, 2017.

Leave a Reply

