Vdub Love!

Last September I attended as a vendor the First Annual Volkfest in the lovely village of Bayfield. It was such a success that the Second Annual is this Sunday (Sept. 25) . This year’s expanded event will include overnight camping for those who wish to partake, and returning from last year are the vendor village, food trucks (both expanded), music, and the motorcade of Volkswagens from Grand Bend.

I decided to participate last year more out of curiosity than anything and I have to say, it was not only an enjoyable afternoon, but fascinating. I had no idea that there is such a culture behind the Volkswagen brand, especially for those who own vintage models. These car owners REALLY love their vehicles and the event was a happy and social one. Some had traveled great distances to join in the festivities. As a photographer, I loved the symmetrical rows of brightly coloured cars that were very photogenic!

As an ode to last year’s event, I’m going to share some of those photos with you. If you are looking for a fun, family-friendly event for this weekend, I encourage you to make the trip to Bayfield. You won’t be disappointed! I’ll be there selling my photos and hand-crafted jewellery – be sure to stop by and say hello. It runs from noon – 4:00 pm in the main square in Bayfield. Here’s the Facebook event page.

This little cutie pie could really belt out a tune!

img_7522

Interesting vendor display

img_7515

 

img_7541

 

img_7536

img_7559

img_7561

img_7551

img_7557

If you are as old as I am, you probably remember watching Sunday night Disney movies. These included “Herbie the Love Bug” movies. Here’s Herbie: the next generation!

img_7556

Love the hula girl in the window!

img_7542

It’s hard to choose as there were so many awesome Vdubs, but this was perhaps my favourite. What can I say…my favourite colour is red!

img_7548

All images by me; copyright Tina Beynen, 2016.

One thought on “Vdub Love!

Leave a Reply

