Summer in bloom

Hello from Kingston, Ontario! The past couple of weeks have been a whirlwind, as I was offered a last-minute, 3-week teaching position. I’m a new teacher in need of classroom experience, and my current employer was so kind as to allow me to take a few weeks away from the office, so…voila. Here I am! This is the reason why I did not  have the chance to post anything last week.

I will have some Kingston pictures for you in due course, but I thought a change of pace was in order since I’ve been focused on travel for awhile now. Don’t get me wrong – I LOVE travel, but it’s nice to shake things up every now and again.

Some of the things I love most about summer is the availability of local fresh fruits and vegetables, and how bright and colourful everything is when the summer flowers are in bloom. I love taking photos of flowers, whether experimenting at home, or when I’m out and about. Here are some of my favourite photos of summertime flowers.

These were taken in my sister’s garden just a couple of weeks ago.

The gorgeous, colourful arrangement below was in a display at a flower stall in the Byward Market in Ottawa during one of my visits last year.

IMG_5550

This bold beauty is common at this time of year, but this hibiscus (and the next photo, too) I found in Niagara-on-the-Lake a few years back when I was showing around a friend from Australia.

NLredhibiscus

NLpeachlily

These photos are a bit off-topic, but from the same trip. I did say I love summer fruit and vegetables…and some fruits are pretty tasty in liquid form! The Niagara region is bursting with wineries waiting to be explored. (I couldn’t resist just a *little* bit of travel!)

The next 2 photos were taken in Riviere Trois Pistoles, Quebec, in the garden of the lovely woman I stayed with for a one-week exchange program I participated in several years ago.

RTPyellowlilies

RTPpinkflowers

And speaking of Quebec, the next photo was taken in a public garden in Gatineau, which for those of us who remember it as Hull, is across the river from Ottawa.

IMG_9980RS

These are for my mom, who loves Gerber daisies!

DSC07471

My favourite flowers are tulips, so you’ll have to wait until next spring before I bombard you with the gazillion photos I have of tulips! However, I do have this next shot from mom’s garden. Tiger lilies are probably not the first flower that comes to mind as a favourite, but I love how this shot turned out.

IMG_7294

These next two photos are sentimental favourites, because these roses were given to me by my two best friends on the day I graduated with my MA degree. They accompanied my mom and I to Ottawa for my graduation ceremony. It was great to be able to celebrate this accomplishment with them.

Black-eyed Susans and sunflowers remind me so much of summer!

sunflowercloseup

These summer staples add such a nice pop of colour to even the most average of landscapes. I like the next two photos for this very reason. That pop of colour really adds something! The first one was taken in my hometown of London during the visit from my Australian friend. The last photo was taken during a visit to Toronto Island a few years back.

London_ForksThamessummer

TOcityscapesummer

I hope you are having a great summer, and taking time to smell the roses (and other gorgeous summer flowers)!

All images by me; copyright Tina Beynen, 2016.

Leave a Reply

