Mexico, Part 1: Paradise Found!

Hola! I’m happy to report that my trip to Mexico was fabulous, and my friends’ wedding was beautiful. I wasn’t kidding when I said I would need time to sort though my photos…I took over 1600 in total! As such, I’ll be sharing some of them with you in a 3-part series.

This first part will include photos from around our resort, the Azul Fives by Karisma, located ust outside of Playa del Carmen. The bride and groom chose this “Gourmet Inclusive” resort largely due to the food, and this did not disappoint. This was not the cheapest all-inclusive vacation I have ever been on, but the fabulous food and 24/7 room service is something that sure was fun to experience. It was a nice treat, and stunning location for a wedding.

This!

IMG_1215

IMG_1291

IMG_1279

IMG_1224

IMG_1279

IMG_1275

Definitely as close to paradise as I’ve ever been! The photos above were taken along the stretch of beach in front of, and to the left and right of our resort. Below, these lovely ladies spent their days walking up and down the beach selling their wares. A difficult way to make a living, but they were all smiles.

IMG_1281

Let’s take a closer look around the resort. Here’s the front lobby.

The grounds were beautifully manicured as one would expect, but they are mindful of what is sustainable in their climate. In fact, Karisma takes sustainability very seriously, and I loved that this was a feature of where we stayed.

IMG_9703

IMG_1267

IMG_9708

Below, this area is the “central hub” where many of the food and beverage options and shops are located. The enclosures you see are wooden pagodas that float over a Koi pond. You can request this outdoor seating when booking into the Thai restaurant. A close up of one of these tables is included below.

IMG_9696

There were lots of quiet spots like this if you wanted to get out of the sun. I didn’t have time to grab a book and hop into one of the hammocks, but a friend and I did pose for photos one evening (and I almost fell out of one). They are more difficult to navigate than you think!

IMG_9721

This was the view from my room. Not bad, eh? These pools meandered all over the resort, and in spots such as in the photo below, they ended in a central location with a swim-up bar.

IMG_9646

IMG_9710

Here’s a closer look at one of those wooden pagodas.

IMG_9671

The resort is as beautiful at night as in the daytime.

IMG_9669

IMG_1257

IMG_9816

I mentioned that the food was fantastic, so had to include at least one photo! This was my favourite lunch. I never grew weary of fresh guacamole!

IMG_1236

I never opted for this, but how fun is the idea of breakfast tacos? This station was set up each morning outside of the main buffet restaurant.

IMG_1259

Speaking of breakfast, we were treated to a bit of a show one morning when some Spider monkeys decided to join us for some breakfast!

This is mama:

IMG_9977

IMG_9978

And this is baby! Isn’t he/she adorable?

IMG_9982

IMG_9983

Mama and baby were eating fruit off the trees for breakfast.

Next time in Part 2, I’ll take you to Playa del Carmen.

 All images by me; copyright Tina Beynen, 2016.

Leave a Reply

