Goin back to Cali…Part 1

In my last post about Cinco de Mayo Day, I promised more photos from my trip to California in the fall of 2004. Being so close to Mexico, there are many parts of California where its neighbour’s influences are apparent. San Diego is a prime example of this. You will recognize two of the photos below from my last post.

My first stop in San Diego was Balboa Park. Not only can you find green space and interesting architecture here, but it is home to a slew of museums, including the Museum of Photographic Arts. You can bet I spent some time in there!

Balboaentrance

Balboalilypond

Balboafounders

Balboa_artcentre

Balboa_art

Another must-see is the historic Old Town area, known as the “birthplace of California.” Highlights include the Old Town Market and the Bazaar del Mundo.

Page8

Page5

Page7

Page9

Page1

SanDiego_OTsign

Page6

If you want to play with – or like – the rich and famous, you can head to Coronado. This is an area across and along San Diego Bay with beautiful (and expensive) homes, beaches, and the famous hotel.

Page00011

Coronadohotel

Finally, here are some other photos around San Diego Bay.

Page00012

waterfrontshack

I loved all the outdoor art!

Stay tuned next week for more photos from other places in California I ventured to.

All images by me; copyright Tina Beynen, 2016.

Leave a Reply

