Beautiful Baltimore – Part 2

In the Part 1 post featuring photos from my trip to Baltimore earlier this month, the city’s marine heritage was apparent. I discovered much more history during my explorations in Baltimore.

One area that I really enjoyed was Mount Vernon Place (see also here), which is a National Historic Landmark District. This area features the first monument in the US built in Washington’s honour, The George Peabody Library, the Walters Art Museum, and a stunningly beautiful church, just to mention a few of the highlights.

IMG_9479

IMG_9484

IMG_9505

Did you know that the author of the US National Anthem lived part of his life, and was laid to rest in Baltimore?

IMG_9495

A couple blocks north of the inner harbour is home to a Holocaust Memorial.

IMG_9460

Circling back to the heart of the Inner Harbour area, a memorial was built to commemorate 9/11.

IMG_9430

Although I stayed with friends in the Locust Point area, which is home to the historic landmark Fort McHenry, I ran out of time to explore here. However, the photo below shows some of Locust Point just west of Fort McHenry, where rail lines converge overlooking the harbour.

IMG_9368

The last photo I would like to share with you from this trip to Baltimore is a unique looking tower that I could see from the convention centre where my conference was located. I later learned that this is the Bromo Seltzer Arts Tower.

IMG_9471

Although I only saw a small part of the city, I was very much impressed with both its beauty and historical significance. I definitely hope to see more of Baltimore!

All images by me; copyright Tina Beynen, 2016.

Leave a Reply

