Welcome, Spring!

Nothing says spring like seeing the trees start to bloom and the toughest little flowers spring up, sometimes through the snow, thanks to the fluctuating weather we often experience at this time of year. Speaking of which…snow flurries this weekend?!

I’m going to try not to think about that. I work on one of the most beautiful campuses in the province, if not the country (I am allowed to be biased, right?). I also got spoiled when I lived in Ottawa, as part of Carleton’s campus borders the Rideau Canal and the Dominion Arboretum, and a lovely bike path that I used to commute to and from school. Both campuses are beautiful in the spring, with blossoms popping up everywhere. Here are some of my favourite photos in honour of spring’s official arrival last week.

Western’s University College (UC) Hill

uwouchill

At the time, the Stevenson-Lawson Building. Now, Lawson Hall.

uwopinkblossoms

appleblossomcascade

One of the side entrances to University College.

UCcrabaptrees

Western’s Physics & Astronomy Building

uwophysics

Western’s Middlesex College

IMG_2195

Bike path through the Arboretum, across the canal from Carleton’s campus.

20150515_145942

IMG_9077

IMG_9065

The next photo is getting away from Carleton, but still the bike path that runs along the canal, and part of my beautiful commute. It’s also a bit of a teaser! Ottawa is renowned for many things, including the annual Tulip Festival. I adore tulips; they are my favourite flower, along with lilacs. However, I am going to make you wait to see photos of tulips, as this year’s festival has not yet started. But don’t worry, I will soon inundate you with tulip photos!

IMG_9181

I’m looking forward to seeing views like these again soon! Come on spring…we know you can do it.

I’ll be taking a hiatus from the blog next week as I travel to Baltimore, Maryland, USA for a conference. I hope to return with some great shots from my explorations!

All images by me; copyright Tina Beynen, 2016.

Leave a Reply

