Mother Nature’s decorations

How did you enjoy the beautiful, warm weather this past weekend? I was unfortunately too busy to get out and enjoy, but I did go for a nice, long walk the previous weekend. You may recall that we had a gorgeous, sunny day on the Sunday. There was a cold wind, but it was still great to get out.

During my walk, I noticed some really interesting and unique ice formations along the river bank. I must add a note of caution here: do not EVER walk out onto ice unless you have tested it and are absolutely sure it is thick enough and frozen enough to support you. The Thames River did not freeze over this year, so that was not an issue for me. I did, however, cautiously test the ground as I approached the river’s edge, as I didn’t know how mucky or watery it might be. Safety first!

I was rewarded with beautiful ice formations, plus a few other surprises.

IMG_9294

IMG_9291

IMG_9317

IMG_9327

IMG_9333

IMG_9322

IMG_9348

IMG_9342

IMG_9306

Sometimes Mother Nature’s beauty is obvious and glorious. Other times, it is more subtle, and simple. You can see more photos of natural ice formations in past posts here, here, here, and here.

All images by me; copyright Tina Beynen, 2016.

3 thoughts on “Mother Nature’s decorations

Leave a Reply

