Dominican Republic – Part 2

Seeing the terrible forecast for the next couple of days, I’m glad that I saved Part 2 of my Dominican trip for this week!

I was in the Dominican Republic for 1 week and packed a lot in, with a wedding, catamaran snorkeling excursion and parasailing. My last day there, while most of the rest of our group opted to soak up the sun on the beach, I made the decision to do an excursion into Santo Domingo, the nation’s capital. I just didn’t feel right not leaving the resort, so instead of perfecting my tan, I opted to see some of the country and get a taste of the ‘real’ Dominican.

First stop was the Plaza de Espana (Plaza de Armas) and Alcázar de Colón or Columbus’ House (Christopher Columbus’ son Diego, that is), which provided interesting insight into the Dominican’s history. You can learn more about this and other historic buildings here.

castlebalcony

castlecourtyard2

Next, we walked to the beautiful Catedral Primada de America, the first cathedral of the Americas, and the National Pantheon (Pantheon Nacional). This link from above  will tell you more about the latter.

church2

churchceiling2

churchcourtyard2BW

church2BW

churchcourtyardBW

We of course walked the Calle de Las Damas and other interesting streets.

SDstreetscape2

SDstreetscape4

SDstreetscape3

And finally, we spent some time in the mysterious but stunning Los Tres Ojos or 3 Eyes National Park. The underground caves were so interesting!

undergroundlakes2

undergroundlakes8

The trip to Santo Domingo was so worth it! I wish that we had more time to explore, especially just walking around the side streets. I would definitely go back and explore this area further.

I leave you with one last photo from the beautiful Dominican Republic. This was the sunrise our last morning. I didn’t plan to stay up all night, but it was well worth it!

beachsunrise

All images by me; copyright Tina Beynen, 2016.

2 thoughts on “Dominican Republic – Part 2

Leave a Reply

