Dominican Republic – Part 1

So here’s my dilemma. I took a truckload of photos over the last week, during and after the crazy dumping of snow that London got. It was especially beautiful on Sunday when the sun came out! I took advantage and headed out to my favourite local hiking trail and took lots of photos that I would like to share with you. However, I promised you a break from the snow photos.

I suggest the following compromise: I’m going to give the folks who don’t love the snow as much as I do a break, and share some photos from my trip to the Dominican Republic in December, 2007. Appropriate for “throwback Thursday,” which you may be familiar with from Facebook. As you can imagine, I have many photos from that trip, so I’m going to break it up into 2 parts. That way you will get a nice, long break (and I have time to sort through all my new photos) before I hit you with more snow pictures. Deal?

It was pretty exciting flying into the Dominican! For all the travelling I have done, I had never been further south in North American than Florida and California – unless you count the half-day trip I took to Tijuana, Mexico from San Diego, California. Here’s the view we were treated to as we arrived.

sceneryfromair

sceneryfromair_colouredwater

mountainsfromair

The beach was just as nice up-close!

beachandhuts

Here’s a teaser from my next post, from a day trip off of the resort.

Faro a Colón (Columbus Memorial Lighthouse), Santo Domingo

crossmonument

Dominicanmotorcycle

 

All images by me; copyright Tina Beynen, 2016.

2 thoughts on “Dominican Republic – Part 1

Leave a Reply

